Call for Nominations for the 2023 AIRAPT Jamieson Award

A Jamieson Award of 2023 for an outstanding achievement in the field of high pressure research by a young scientist shall be awarded by the Association at the joint AIRAPT/EHPRG Conference in Edinburgh, UK, July 23-28, 2023. The recipient will be invited to give an in-person talk at this Conference.

John Calhoun Jamieson (1924-1983) was Professor of Geophysics at the University of Chicago. Most of his research used static high pressures. However, he also performed shock experiments at Los Alamos and SRI International.

If the person nominated for the 2023 AIRAPT Jamieson Award has already defended their doctoral thesis, then the date of the thesis defense must not be more than 4 years before the beginning of the Conference at which the Award is presented. Nominations should be sent by the candidate (self-nomination) or by a senior scientist to Changqing JIN, the AIRAPT Secretary, by e-mail in PDF format:

E mail:
Phone: + 86 10 82649163

Nominations should contain:

  • One or more letters of recommendation by senior members of the high pressure scientific community;
  • Curriculum vitae et studiorum of the candidate;
  • List of publications of the candidate.

The deadline for the receipt of nominations for the 2023 Jamieson Award is 23 FEBRUARY 2023.
For more information, please refer to the Constitution (By-law #11) at

James Schilling, President AIRAPT
Changqing JIN, Secretary AIRAPT