International Association for the Advancement of High Pressure Science and Technology
Association Internationale pour l'Avancement de la Recherche et de la Technologie aux Hautes Pressions

[20190804] 27th AIRAPT International Conference on High Pressure Science and Technology, Rio de Janeiro (Brasil), August 4-9, 2019

The 27th International Conference on High Pressure Science and Technology (AIRAPT27) will be held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, from the 4th to 9th August, 2019.

More information is available on the conference's webpage at

2017 Bridgman and Jamieson Awards

The selection procedures for the 2017 AIRAPT Bridgman and Jamieson Awards are now completed. The winners are:

  • 2017 AIRAPT Bridgman Award: Mikhail Eremets (Max Planck Institute for Chemistry, Germany)
  • 2017 AIRAPT Jamieson Award: Philip Dalladay-Simpson (Center for High Pressure Science and Technology Advanced Research (HPSTAR), China)

AIRAPT goes social

Subscribe AIRAPT's new accounts on Facebook and Twitter at and

AIRAPT new logo

AIRAPT has a new logo!

The logo was selected by the AIRAPT Executive Committee among a large number of proposals.

The selected logo was designed by Dr. Philip Dalladay-Simpson (HPSTAR, China), to whom the AIRAPT is deeply indebted for his important contribution. Thanks are also due to all participants in the call, whose artistic and creative designs made the competition tight.

Task Group for IPPS (International Practical Pressure Scale)

At the 26th AIRAPT Conference in Beijing, 2017, it was decided to create a task group for discussing an International Practical Pressure Scale (IPPS).

Members of the Task Group for IPPS:

  • Guoyin Shen (Chair)
  • Yanbin Wang (Vice Chair)
  • Jay Bass
  • Yan Bi
  • Agnes Dewaele
  • Jon Eggert
  • Dayne Fratanduono
  • Duanwei He
  • Konstantin Khishchenko
  • Stefan Klotz
  • Kurt Leinenweber
  • Baosheng Li
  • Paul Loubeyre
  • Mohamed Mezouar
  • Takeshi Sakai
  • Katsuya Shimizu (AIRAPT rep)
  • Taku Tsuchiya

Historical AIRAPT documents (1966-1982)

In April 2016, the AIRAPT Executive Committee was contacted by M. François-Yves JULIEN, archivist of the Academie François Bourdon (AFB).

In 2003, the Institut Universitaire de Technologie Le Creusot had asked the AFB to take care of a large amount of AIRAPT documents, and M. Julien needed clarification on their status.

The Executive Committee proposed (*) to deposit these documents at AFB for an indefinite period of time. The AFB will take care of this material, index it and make an inventory.

Syndicate content